IPL 2023: What to Expect from the Upcoming Season

By | December 30, 2023

The new home-and-away structure of the Indian Premier League 2023 will help bring the tournament’s excitement back to India. The IPL 2023 season will include 74 matches amongst the ten competing teams.

A playoff round for this competition will follow a group match. The tournament’s home-and-away format was last used in 2019. BCCI has successfully staged the competition for the last three seasons despite having to make some adjustments in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The 2022 tournament was held just in Mumbai and Pune. In contrast, the 2021 tournament started in a few Indian cities before moving to the United Arab Emirates, and the 2020 tournament took place entirely in the UAE. Six distinct locations in Mumbai, Pune, Kolkata, and Ahmedabad hosted this year’s competition. 

The record for most spectators in a Twenty20 match was set at the IPL 2022 final at Narendra Modi Stadium.

There will be a total of 14 league matches played by each side during the IPL 2023 season. Seven of the 14 games will be played at their stadium, while the other seven will be hosted by their opponents (away). Parimatch site offers some of the best live cricket satta rates in Asia and globally. 

IPL 2023 Format

The IPL 2023 will follow the same structure as the 2022 tournament; however, other stadiums will be used. This is how the IPL 2023 will go down:

  • The ten teams compete in two special brackets, each consisting of five teams.
  • A random draw was used to establish the groupings and who would play who once and twice throughout the different groups.
  • During the group stage, 14 games will be played, with each team playing the other teams in their group twice. 
  • The Points Table for the IPL: The winning team will get another point for their victory. The squad that comes in last place will earn no points. In the case that there is a tie or there is no score, one point will be awarded to each side.
  • After the group stage has been completed, the next round of competition is a best-of-four playoff based on the Page playoff system. The postseason will be comprised of the following four games:
  • In the first qualifying round, the winners and runners-up of each group stage compete against one another.
  • In the elimination phase, the teams who finished third and fourth in the group stage compete against each other.
  • The winner of the Eliminator will face off against the person who came in second place in the first qualifier in the second qualifying round.
  • The top two teams from each initial qualifying round will compete in the final.

IPL 2023 New Rules

In the 2023 season of the Indian Premier League, BCCI adopted the Impact Player Rule, which would alter the league significantly. Everything else about the competition will be the same as the last one. Below are the specifics of the IPL 2023:

  • In the Indian Premier League 2023, the team captain who wins the toss of the coin would get to choose between two possible starting XIs.
  • After the flip of a coin, each team chooses the eleven players they believe to be their most potent. Before this past year, team leaders were required to switch sides rather than toss a coin.
  • When Team A bats first and then has to defend a total in turning circumstances, it can select a playing 11 that includes an additional spinner at the top of the order. This allows Team A to take advantage of the turning conditions.
  • The BCCI implemented a new rule that would, under some circumstances, do away with the adage, “Win the toss, win the match.”
  • The Indian Premier League will use two DRS for every inning in 2023.
  • In the Indian Premier League, players can appeal wides and no-ball decisions.
  • The next batsman takes the strike after a catch dismissal, regardless of whether or not the batters have crossed the line at that point in the game. The last ball of an over is exempt from the requirements of this regulation.
  • If a new date cannot be determined, the IPL Technical Team will examine the issue.
  • Suppose you have a playoff or championship and cannot play the game Super Overdue to inclement weather. In that case, the winner is determined to be the club that finished with the more excellent regular-season record.

New Updates in IPL Playing Conditions

  • If an over is not completed in the specified time, only four fielders are permitted beyond the 30-yard circle.
  • When the wicketkeeper moves out of position without permission, it results in a dead ball and a penalty of five runs.
  • Any outfield interference results in a dead ball and a 5-run penalty.


The previous three of the Indian Premier League have been staged in fewer locations; the 2022 season was held in Pune and Mumbai, the 2021 season initially took place in a few areas in India before moving to the UAE, and the 2020 IPL was entirely hosted in the UAE.

The competition’s most recent iteration was held at six Mumbai, Kolkata, Pune, and Ahmedabad locations. The league’s preliminary stage games took place in three areas in Mumbai and Pune, while the playoff games were held in Ahmedabad and Kolkata.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *